• federal crimes
  • duidefense
  • expungement motions
  • CDL Defense

Posts Tagged ‘Fort Lauderdale jail’

DUI Laws Florida, DUI Defense Lawyers

Written by Criminal Defense Lawyer. Posted in DUI News

Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws need an experienced DUI Defense Lawyer. Crimianl Attorney Referral Service will connect you with a Florida DUI lawyer. Dui Defense in Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood, Pembroke Pines, Davie, Pompano beach, Coral Springs, Deerfield Beach and the Greater Fort Lauderdale area. Florida law is very specific regarding DUI laws. You Fort Lauderdale DUI lawyer will review your case and the laws to formulate the best plan of action for you.
 

    DUI's In Florida requires an experienced DUI Defense by a DUI lawyer.
   

   

* Disclaimer: This summary was prepared by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and should be used as a reference only. Interested parties should refer to the full text of the law before drawing legal conclusions. A Criminal Attorney Referral Service lawyer will refer to the full test of the DUI laws to formulate your DUI defense.

DUI (Driving Under the Influence of Alcoholic Beverages, Chemical Substances or Controlled Substances). s. 316.193, F.S.

    Under Florida law, DUI is one offense, proved by impairment of normal faculties or unlawful blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above. The penalties upon conviction are the same, regardless of the manner in which the offense is proven.

 

Fine Schedule s. 316.193(2)(a)-(b), F.S.

    First Conviction: Not less than $500, or more than $1,000. With Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000.

    Second Conviction: Not less than $1,000, or more than $2,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or more than $4,000.
    Third Conviction More than 10 years from second: Not less than $2,000, or more than $5,000. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
    Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not less than $2,000.

 

Community Service – s. 316.193 (6)(a), F.S.

    First Conviction: Mandatory 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.

 

Probation – s. 316.193 (5)(6), F.S.

    First conviction, total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year.

 

Imprisonment- s. 316.193 (2)(a) 2, 4(b), (6)(j), F.S.

    At court's discretion, sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program, credited toward term of imprisonment.

    First Conviction: Not more than 6 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 9 months.

    Second Conviction: Not more than 9 months. With BAL of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not more than 12 months. If second conviction within 5 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 10 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive.

    Third Conviction: If third conviction within 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of at least 30 days. At least 48 hours of confinement must be consecutive. If third conviction more than 10 years, imprisonment for not more than 12 months.

    Fourth or Subsequent Conviction: Not more than 5 years or as provided in s.775.084, Florida Statutes, as habitual/violent offender.

Impoundment of Immobilization of Vehicle – s. 316.193 (6), F.S.

    Unless the family of the defendant has no other transportation: First conviction = 10 days; second conviction within 5 years = 30 days; third conviction within 10 years = 90 days. Impoundment or immobilization must not occur concurrently with incarceration. The court may dismiss the order of impoundment of any vehicles that are owned by the defendant if they are operated solely by the employees of the defendant or any business owned by the defendant.

Back

Conditions for Release of Persons Arrested for DUI-s. 316.193 (9), F.S.

    The person is no longer under the influence and;
    The person's normal faculties are no longer impaired
    The person's blood/breath alcohol level is lower than 0.05; or
    Eight hours have elapsed from the time the person was arrested.

 

DUI Misdemeanor Conviction: (Accident Involving Property Damage or Personal Injury)-s. 316.193 (3), F.S.

    Any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor (not more than $1,000 fine or 1-year imprisonment).

 

DUI Felony Conviction: (Repeat Offenders or Accidents Involving Serious Bodily Injury)-s. 316.193 (2),(3) F.S.

    Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment).

    Any person who causes serious bodily injury while driving under the influence is guilty of a Third Degree Felony (not more than $5,000 fine and/or 5 years imprisonment) or if habitual/violent felony offender as provided in s. 775.084, F.S.

Back

Manslaughter and Vehicular Homicide-s. 316.193 (3), F.S.

    DUI/Manslaughter: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).

    DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of DUI Manslaughter who knew/should have known accident occurred; and failed to give information or render aid is guilty of a First Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

    Vehicular Homicide: Second Degree Felony (not more than $10,000 fine and/or 15 years imprisonment).

    Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene: A driver convicted of vehicular homicide who left the scene of an accident is guilty of a First Degree Felony (nor more than $10,000 fine and/or 30 years imprisonment).

Back

Driver License Revocation Periods for DUI-s. 322.271, F.S. and s. 322.28,F.S.

    A. First Conviction: Minimum 180 days revocation, maximum 1 year.

    B. Second Conviction Within 5 Years: Minimum 5 years revocation. May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 1 year. Other 2nd offenders same as "A" above.

    C. Third Conviction Within 10 Years of the second conviction: minimum 10 years revocation. May be eligable for a hardship reinstatement after two years.

    D. Fourth Conviction, Regardless of When Prior Convictions Occurred) and Murder with Motor Vehicle: Mandatory permanent revocation. No hardship reinstatement.

    E. DUI Manslaughter: Mandatory permanent revocation. If no prior DUI related convictions, may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years.

    F. Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: Minimum 3-year revocation. DUI Serious Bodily Injury having prior DUI conviction is same as "B-D" above.

Back
Commercial Motor Vehicles (CMV) – Alcohol-Related Convictions/Disqualifications-s. 322.61, F.S.

    Persons convicted of driving a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .04 or above: driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance or refusing to submit to a test to determine the alcohol concentration while driving a commercial motor vehicle, driving a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance, or driving a commercial motor vehicle while in possession of a controlled substance shall be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for a period of 1 year. This is in addition to any provisions of s. 316.193 for DUI convictions.

    Second or subsequent conviction of any of the above offenses arising out of separate incidents will result in a permanent disqualification from operating a commercial motor vehicle.

    There are no provisions for persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle to obtain a hardship (business or employment) license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.

 

Business Purposes Only/Employment Purposes Only Reinstatements-s. 322.271, F.S. and s. 322.28, F.S.

    First Conviction: Must complete DUI school, apply to department for hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for up to six months for BAL of .15.

    Second Convictions (or more): No hardship license except as provided below. Mandatory ignition interlock device for one year, or for two years if BAL is greater than .20.

    Second Conviction Within 5 Years: (5-Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after one year. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement. Mandatory ignition interlock device for one year or for two years if BAL is greater than .15.

    Third Conviction Within 10 Years: (10-Year Revocation) May apply for hardship reinstatement hearing after two years. Must complete DUI school and remain in the DUI supervision program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in the cancellation of the hardship license). Applicant may not have consumed any alcoholic beverage or controlled substance or driven a motor vehicle for 12 months prior to reinstatement.  Mandatory ignition interlock device for two years.

    DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): May be eligible for hardship reinstatement after 5 years have expired from date of revocation or expired from date of term of incarceration provided the following requirements have been met:

    1. Has not been arrested for a drug-related offense for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;

    2. Has not driven a motor vehicle without a license for at least 5 years prior to the hearing;

    3. Has been alcohol and drug-free for at least 5 years prior to the hearing; and

    4. Must complete a DUI school and must be supervised under the DUI program for the remainder of the revocation period (failure to report for counseling or treatment shall result in cancellation of the hardship license).

    5. Ignition interlock device required for two years.

    Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide Convictions: (3 Year Revocation): May immediately apply for hardship reinstatement hearing. Must complete DUI school or advanced driver improvement course.

DUI School Requirements – s. 316.193 F.S., s. 322.271, F.S., s. 322.291, F.S.

    First Conviction: Must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement. Customers who wait out revocation period before reinstatement need only show proof of enrollment or completion to become re-licensed. If customer enrolls and is reinstated after revocation period expires, failure to complete the DUI school within 90 days after reinstatement will result in license cancellation; the driver cannot then be re-licensed until DUI school is completed.

    Second Conviction in 5 Years (5-Year Revocation) or Third Conviction in 10 Years (10-Year Revocation): Customer must complete DUI school following conviction. See requirements in 13C and 13D respectively.

    DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): Must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement.

    Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide: (Minimum 3 year Revocation): See 13F

    Customers Who Wait Until Revocation Period Expires: Must enroll in DUI school and pass the driver license examinations to be re-licensed. Failure to complete the school within 90 days after such reinstatement will result in cancellation of the license until the school is completed.

    Reckless Driving: If the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical or controlled substances contributed to a violation of reckless driving, the person convicted of reckless driving must complete DUI school if ordered by the court.

    Treatment: Treatment resulting from a psychosocial evaluation may not be waived without a supporting psychosocial evaluation by a court appointed agency with access to the original evaluation.

 

Chemical or Physical Test Provisions (Implied Consent Law)-s. 316.1932, F.S., s. 316.1933, F.S., s. 316.1934, F.S, s. 316.1939, F.S

    Refusal: Refusal to submit to a breath, urine, or blood test is admissible as evidence in DUI criminal proceedings. Second or subsequent refusal is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

    Driver License Suspension Periods: First refusal, suspended for 1 year. Second or subsequent refusals, suspended for 18 months.

    Commercial Driver License Disqualification Periods: First refusal in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified for 1 year. Second or subsequent refusals in a commercial motor vehicle, disqualified permanently. No hardship reinstatement permitted.

    Forceful Withdrawal of Blood: If necessary, blood may be withdrawn in DUI cases involving serious bodily injury or death by authorized medical personnel with the use of reasonable force by the arresting officer, even if the driver refuses.

    Unconscious: Any person who is incapable of refusal by reason of unconsciousness or other mental or physical condition shall be deemed not to have withdrawn his consent to such test. A blood test may be administered whether or not such person is told that his failure to submit to such a blood test will result in the suspension of his privilege to operate a motor vehicle.

    Portable Alcohol Breath Testing Devices: Authorized by s.322.2616, F.S., for persons under the age of 21. Reading is admissible as evidence in any administrative hearing conducted under s. 322.2616, F.S.

 

Adjudication and Sentencing – s. 316.656, F.S., s. 322.2615 F.S.

    Penalty to be Imposed by Court: Judges are prohibited from deviating from the administrative suspension/revocation periods mandated by statute. The courts are prohibited from withholding adjudication in DUI cases; or from reducing a DUI charge if the defendant's blood alcohol was .15 or greater.

Driving While License Suspended or Revoked- s. 322.34, F.S.

    Any person whose driver license/privilege is suspended for Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Level, or revoked for DUI, DUI Manslaughter or Vehicular Homicide, or for any other offense ordered by the court and who causes death or serious bodily injury to another person by operating a motor vehicle in a careless or negligent manner is guilty of a 3rd degree felony, punishable by both imprisonment of not more than 5 years, a fine not to exceed $5,000, or both.

Back

Administrative Suspension of Persons Under the Age of 21 for Driving With an Alcohol Level .02 or Above

    Section 322.2616, Florida Statutes, authorizes law enforcement officers having probable cause to believe that a motor vehicle is being driven by or is in the actual physical control of a person who is under the age of 21 while under the influence of alcoholic beverages or who has any alcohol level may lawfully detain this person and may request them to submit to a test to determine the alcohol level. This violation is neither a traffic infraction nor a criminal offense, nor does being detained under this statute constitute an arrest.

    First Suspension for Persons Under the Age of 21 With An Alcohol Level .02 or above: 6 months.

    Second or Subsequent Suspensions 1 year.

    First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath Test: 1 year.

    Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months.

    The suspension is effective immediately. If the breath or blood alcohol level is .05 or higher the suspension shall remain in effect until completion of a substance abuse evaluation and course. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit effective 12 hours after issuance which is valid for 10 days, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

 

Administrative Suspension Law – s. 322.2615, F.S., s. 316.193, F.S., s. 316.1932, F.S.

    First Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 6 months.

    Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level (.08 or above): 1 year.

    First Suspension for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine or Blood Test: 1 year.

    Second or Subsequent Suspensions for Refusal: 18 months.

    The suspension is effective immediately The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit valid for 10 days from the date of arrest, provided the driver is otherwise eligible.

Back

Administrative Disqualification Law

    First Disqualification for Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle With an Unlawful Blood Alcohol Level (.04 or above): 1 year disqualification
    driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance: 1 year disqualification
    First Disqualification for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine or Blood Test Arising from the Operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle: 1-year disqualification

    Second or Subsequent Disqualification for Refusal to Submit to Breath, Urine, or Blood Test Arising from the Operation of a Commercial Motor Vehicle: permanently disqualified.

    Second or Subsequent Disqualification of driving a motor vehicle while he or she is under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance: Permanently disqualification

    The disqualification is effective immediately upon refusal of the breath, urine or blood test or determination that the driver has a blood alcohol level of .08 or above, while operating or in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle. The officer will issue the driver a temporary permit which is valid for 10 days from the date of arrest or disqualification, provided the driver is otherwise eligible. However, the permit does not authorize the operation of a commercial motor vehicle for the first 24 hours of disqualification.

Review Hearings For Administrative Suspensions And Disqualifications

    Sections s. 322.2615 and s. 322.64, F.S., authorize the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles upon the request of the driver to conduct formal and informal reviews for the purpose of sustaining, amending or invalidating administrative suspensions and disqualifications. The decisions of the department shall not be considered in any trial for a violation of s. 316.193, F.S., nor shall any written statement submitted by a person in his request for review be admissible into evidence against him in any such trial. The disposition of any related criminal proceedings shall not affect a suspension/disqualification.

Business or Employment Reinstatement:

    1.Suspension for Driving With an Unlawful Alcohol Level of .08 or above or Refusal: Must show proof of enrollment in DUI school and apply for an administrative hearing for possible hardship reinstatement. For unlawful alcohol level must serve 30 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. For first refusal must serve 90 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. No hardship reinstatement for two or more refusals.

    2. Suspension – Persons Under Age of 21 Driving With a Breath Alcohol Level of .02 or above: Must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course before hardship reinstatement.  .05 or higher, must complete DUI program prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement. Must serve 30 days without driver license or permit prior to eligibility for hardship reinstatement.

Hardship License Prohibited:

    1. Florida law prohibits any hardship reinstatement upon 2nd or subsequent suspension for test refusal or if driver has been convicted of (DUI) section 316.193, F.S., two or more times.

    2. Persons disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle cannot obtain a hardship license to operate a commercial motor vehicle.
 

Criminal Attorney Referral Service has experienced Florida and Georgia DUI lawyers ready to help you. 

The Florida DUI laws are offered as a resource guide. Your Dui defense lawyer will be using these laws as a guideline in an attempt to formulate an aggressive DUI Defense for you.

Broward County Arrest Information, Broward County Sheriff

Written by Criminal Defense Lawyer. Posted in Criminal Defense News

General Arrest Information and Jail Visitor Information Broward County Sheriffs Office Information

The Inmate Information Handbook is available in the following languages:

    English
    Spanish
    Creole

Click here if you are an attorney seeking information about communicating with or visiting an incarcerated client.

Information on BSO's policy of recording outgoing inmate telephone calls.
Charge(s) & Bond Information

Information about an arrestee's charge(s) and bond is available online through our Arrest Inquiry Database. You can also call (954) 831-5900 or visit the information window, which is open 24-hours-a-day, located in the lobby of BSO's Main Jail.

Cash, cashier's checks, money orders, wire transfers and Western Union Quick Collect are the only accepted methods of payment for bail. When posting bail, cashier's checks and money orders must be made payable to the Sheriff of Broward County.

To transfer funds via Western Union, include the following information:

    Pay to: Sheriff of Broward County
    Code city & state: COPS, FL
    Account number: Inmate's name and arrest number

Refunds for cash bonds can be made if the blue bond receipt and court disposition sheet that releases the bond are both presented. Bond payments and bond refunds are both processed at BSO's Cash Bond Unit, located within BSO's Main Jail.
Intake & Release Process

Individuals who have been placed under arrest are first transported to Broward Sheriff's Office Central Intake Unit, which is located at the Main Jail in downtown Ft. Lauderdale. Upon arrival, they must complete the following steps:

    Property Intake
    Medical Screening
    Fingerprinting
    Photographing
    Warrants Check

While the staff at Central Intake is dedicated to ensuring the prompt processing and release of eligible arrestees, the amount of time required to complete this process may be affected by the volume of arrestees being processed simultaneously and/or the availability of information from state and national databases.
Appearance in Magistrate Court

Arrestees who are not bonded out of jail appear before a magistrate judge the day following the arrest (including Saturdays and Sundays). Proceedings usually begin at 8 a.m., however this depends upon the presiding judge. The judge will inform the arrestee of the charge(s) and, if appropriate, will set a bond amount.

In misdemeanor cases, the judge may accept a guilty plea and release the arrestee on his or her own recognizance or for time-served.

Magistrate proceedings may be viewed on the monitor located in the lobby of BSO's Main Jail.
Housing Assignments

Individuals who are not released on bond are assigned to one of five BSO jails based upon objective criteria. This criteria ensures that inmates are housed in the least restrictive and safest unit possible based upon level of security required. Housing assignments are not made based on proximity to an inmate's home, but rather on the premise of assigning an inmate to the jail facility that can best meet his or her needs.

Inmate Activities, Services & Programs

Inmates are permitted to watch television and are provided with reading material to occupy free time. Weather permitting, inmates may also take part in outside recreation and use exercise equipment.

BSO's Department of Detention & Community Control provides a variety of programs and services to inmates, including:

    Adult Basic Education
    AIDS Awareness Training
    Alcoholics Anonymous (AA)
    Anger Management Program
    Cocaine Anonymous
    Commissary
    GED Preparation & Testing
    Group Therapy
    Juvenile Programs
    Library Services
    Medical Services
    Mental Health Counseling
    Narcotics Anonymous (NA)
    Parenting Skills
    Pre-Release Planning
    Prevention & Intervention Program Against Drugs & Alcohol
    Relapse Prevention Program
    Religious Services & Counseling
    Sexually Transmitted Disease (STD) Training
    Substance Abuse Treatment
    Veterans Group
    Work Release Programs

Additional information about these programs is available from detention deputies within the facility.
Release of Inmate Property

Inmate property can be released to family or friends after an inmate completes a property voucher specifying the intended recipient. Property may be picked up between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m., seven-days-a-week, at the BSO jail facility where the inmate is housed. A government-issued photo ID is required to receive the property.
Visiting Rules & Regulations

Visiting hours are restricted to specific times for specific areas in each jail facility. For detailed information, consult the inmate visiting schedule for each of the jail facilities operated by BSO.

Accommodations are made for one 2-hour visit per inmate per week. Visiting days and hours vary according to the BSO jail facility. Inmates are informed of visiting days and hours and are responsible for relaying this information to those who wish to visit them.

    Due to limited visiting space, only two adults or one minor supervised by a parent or guardian may visit during the weekly visiting period.
    Government-issued photo identification, such as a driver's license, military identification, passport or state-issued ID card, must be presented by each adult visitor. Visitors who do not have proper identification will not be permitted to visit.
    Visitors must be appropriately dressed. Shoes, shirts and appropriate underclothing must be worn. Visitors wearing suggestive clothing, transparent fabric, short-shorts or mini-skirts will not be permitted to visit.
    Visitors under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who must present either a birth certificate or court documentation showing appointment of legal guardianship. Minors must be supervised at all times by the parent or legal guardian.
    Visitors must remain in the assigned visiting room/area during the visit and will be denied further visitation if determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
    Visitors may not give anything to or take anything from an inmate.
    Proper behavior of all visitors is required.

Guidelines for Inmate Mail:

    Incoming mail is delivered to inmates Monday through Friday.
    All incoming mail is opened and searched for security threats and contraband (such as money, checks, inappropriate photos, matches, lighters, cigarettes, jewelry, chewing gum, etc.).
    Mail sent by legal representatives is opened only in the presence of the inmate addressee.
    Inmates may receive letters and cards.
    Do not send cash or personal checks through the mail. Money in any form is contraband and will not be delivered to the inmate.
    Unauthorized items mailed to an inmate will be placed in the property room, returned to sender, or disposed of, as appropriate.
    Inmate mail must be addressed as follows and should reflect the appropriate mailing address for the facility:
        Inmate's full name
        Inmate's arrest number
        Facility's mailing address

Click here for a list of mailing addresses for Broward County jail facilities.
Inmate Telephone Service

Once an inmate receives his or her housing assignment, he or she can contact family and friends by calling collect from phones in the jail. Family and friends must be willing to accept the charges.

Inmates cannot receive incoming telephone calls and BSO employees are not permitted to deliver personal messages to inmates.

Information on BSO's policy of recording outgoing inmate telephone calls.

If you are having trouble receiving calls from an inmate at any Broward County Detention Facility, would like to request a BLOCK or UNBLOCK on your phone, or have a question about how to setup a DIRECT BILL or PREPAID account, please contact T-Netix with the below information.
Helpful Telephone Numbers
Bond Information (954) 831-5900
Pre-Trial Release Information (954) 765-4251
Public Defender's Office (954) 831-8650
State Attorney's Office (954) 831-6955
Clerk of the Court (954) 765-4575
T-Netix Budget Connections

    Any billing issues for the end users
    For Block/Unblock of phone numbers
    Any rate issues or questions

Toll free phone number 1-877-800-5729
Care Packs

Care Packs may be purchased with cash through kiosks located in BSO jail facility lobbies (Conte, Paul Rein, Main Jail, or North Broward). Care Pack purchase is accepted seven (7) days a week. No change will be made through the kiosks.
Depositing Funds to Inmate Accounts

Inmates are permitted to receive funds for deposit to their commissary accounts. However, you should wait until an inmate has received a permanent housing assignment, and is transferred to that housing unit, before sending money.
EZ Money Load

Click here to use EZ Money Load's online service to place money on inmate's commissary account.
Western Union Quick Collect

For Web transactions, visit www.westernunion.com.

    Click on Bill Pay and choose Correctional Facility Options
    Choose: BROWARD SHERIFF CASH BONDS OR BROWARD SHERIFF INMATE BANK

Cash payments can be made at a participating Western Union Agent location or you can pay using a credit or debit card by calling 1-800-634-3422 or online at www.westernunion.com.

To contact an Agent, Call Western Union at 1-800-325-6000 or visit www.westernunion.com to find the nearest Western Union Agent location.

For payments by phone, call Western Union at 1-800-634-3422 (press option 2).

For each Commissary Quick Collect transaction the following information must be provided:

    Pay to: Sheriff of Broward County
    Code city & state: CANTEEN, FL
    Account number: Inmate's name and arrest number
    Attention: Inmate's name, date of birth and purpose: commissary

Money orders and cashier's checks

Money orders and cashier's checks may be mailed to inmates (for instructions, see "Guidelines for Inmate Mail").
Cash deposits

Cash deposits to inmate accounts ARE NOT accepted by mail. Cash may be deposited to inmate commissary accounts through kiosks located in BSO jail facility lobbies (Conte, Paul Rein, Main Jail, or North Broward). Cash deposited will be available to an inmate thirty-minutes following the deposit. Cash deposit is accepted seven (7) days a week. No change will be made through the kiosks.

Depositors must present the name and arrest number of the inmate and the exact cash amount to be

AAA Criminal Referral has criminal defense lawyers ready to help you